From Streets in the Sky to Open mic at the Tivoli…..

I was at Square Chapel in Halifax the other week for a trio of ghost stories read out by a storyteller Matthew Bellwood, in the ‘Streets in the Sky’ venue, up above the indoor market, where the pigeons roost. It was held inside one of the old derelict terraced houses; lit by candles and with some of us drinking wine – it was creepy as heck. A novel idea for street theatre.

At the weekend I attended a crime writing workshop at Keighley Library with Heaton based crime authoress Liz Mistry. Its topic was ‘ Creating a sense of place in your fiction’. It was absolutely excellent, very informative and well constructed with useful handouts. Thanks to Dionne Hood and Liz for running this.

Find out more at her blog:- https://lizmistrycritoeditmewriter.wordpress.com/

My latest 100 drabble is now out on:-

http://horrortree.com/category/trembling-with-fear/

you can find ‘Soul Mate’ under the date 6/18/2017

I also made the long list with my piece of Flash called ‘The Middleman’ in https://brilliantflashfictionmag.wordpress.com/2017/06/25/lost-in-translation-writing-contest-results/#more-2434

which was inspired by the prompt ‘the dubash’ -yes I had to look up what it meant too! But I really enjoyed the research for the piece and this comp has a very high standard of international entries so I was pleased to get a mention.

On Thursday 6 July I will be at the Tivoli cafe in Ben Rhydding reading 3 short pieces at their open mic evening which includes musicians too.

THE PURPLE ROOM Presents: A Summer Celebration of Music & Words
                          featuring local singers, musicians & wordsmiths
                          from Ben Rhydding & Ilkley.
This is being organised by the indefatigable Keely Hodgson Wilcox whose natural voice singing group I harmonise with on a weekly basis.
I  will only have 3-4 minutes to read out my work, but that is plenty long enough with my nerves!
Valley Press run by Jamie McGarry is running some author events this summer in Scarborough-I have booked on the first one as James Nash has been my creative writing teacher with the WEA for the last few years! He is excellent to go and listen to.
at Woodend, 1-2pm on a Thursday afternoon for six weeks. Here’s what I’ve got lined up:

  • on August 10th, James Nash will be sharing his classic sonnets and some brand new ones, as well as discussing nine years of Valley Press history with myself.
  • on August 17th, Helen Burke will be celebrating the release of her Collected Poems, performing highlights from forty-eight years of writing.
  • Check their website for more info.

 

Leave a Reply

