Submitting to alfie dog….

Today I was rather pleased with my writing push because I tidied up and submitted 3 short stories to Rosemary Kind’s downloadable paying short story website www.alfiedog.com– for her consideration. Last year I was so delighted when she accepted my story for teens to put on her site and I think through practise and more practise I’ve got better at self editing, dialogue and content. It’s a long path though with a way to go.

The three stories I sent in were :-

  1. The Resurrection of the Reverend Greswold
  2. Never Judge a Book by its Cover
  3. Lost Property.

One is a murder, one is a ghost story and one is a feel good life after divorce piece set in Saltaire. Fingers crossed that Rosemary will take one of them- her window for subs closes on 1 April- so not long left to wait to find out.

I went to see the huge gazillion budget ‘Beauty and the Beast‘ last night starring Hogwarts star Emma Watson, not my idea of the lead role but she did a sterling job after all. It looked stunning of course, lovely songs, touching story, a baddy to boo and a hairy hero with problems who just needs to be loved. I floated out of the cinema. It took me back 40 years to 1977 and going to see ‘The Slipper and the Rose’ with my mum. An all star British film, directed by Bryan Forbes- a  version of Cinderella starring Richard Chamberlain and Gemma Craven. Similar frocks, much singing and dancing, lots of starry turns, (in support were the likes of Kenneth More and Margaret Lockwood), an abundance of warm fuzzy feelings and romance by the bucket load. I absolutely adored that film when I was 10 or 11 years old, and desperately wanted to be Cinderella. Sadly my mum died a good few years ago but she would have loved the B&B reboot.

 

Leave a Reply

