Nest of Bones – out today

http://www.404words.com/nest-of-bones/ has a new piece of flash by moi today on its site. The piece includes bones and birds, so I am in my fictional element. I originally had the seed of this idea at a writing workshop at Leeds Uni led by tutor Ebba Brooks, and called it ‘The Attic’ as a provisonal title. Since then I’ve rewritten it, edited it and shortened it- till it became ‘Nest of Bones’.

I am beavering away on my stories to submit to alfie dog at the moment but I want to mention that last week I went to see Hebden Bridge artist Kate Lycett’s new exhibition at Cliffe Castle, Keighley called ‘The Lost Houses of the Pennines.http://www.katelycett.co.uk/

Her paintings which recreate several demolished manor houses around the Halifax area, are gorgeous works of art in oil and gouache but are also brilliant evocations of these once grand ‘brass castles’ based on her historical researches. A friend of mine has bought one of the originals, High Sunderland, to hang in her cottage near Shibden.

One thought on “Nest of Bones – out today

Leave a Reply

